Area Colleges & Universities

There are several outstanding 2-year and 4-year colleges and universities within a short drive of Dillon County.

Northeast Technical College


Dillon County residents and existing business and industry receive workforce training and educational resources through Northeastern Technical College. Northeast Tech serves a three county region that includes Dillon, Chesterfield, and Marlboro counties. 

Most of Dillon County’s business and industry utilize the workforce training programs offered by Dillon County and it’s sister program – readySC which provides customized workforce training programs for new and existing industry. Northeast Tech’s main campus is in Cheraw, SC but the school operates a satellite campus in Dillon.

Northeastern Technical College is a post-secondary institution which is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award associate degrees, diplomas, and certificates. 

Northeastern Technical College is one of the 16 technical colleges that make up the SC Technical College System, an organization that contributed nearly $2.5 billion to South Carolina’s economy during the 2004 fiscal year.  During the same year, Northeastern Technical College had a cumulative economic impact totaling more than $47 million on its service area. 

Northeastern Technical College, a member of the South Carolina Technical and Comprehensive Education System, is an accredited post secondary institution which grants associate degrees, diplomas, and certificates and is supported by county, state, federal, and student revenues. NETC enrolls approximately 2,700 - 2,800 college credit students and 3,700 - 5,500 continuing education students annually.

Coker College


Coker College is located in the Hartsville, a 1996 All-America City. It is a private, four-year, coeducational, comprehensive liberal arts college founded in 1908. Enrollment for Coker College is approximately 600 students.

The Coker Cobras compete in NCAA Division II sports. The sports include baseball, basketball, cross country, soccer, tennis, and golf for men; basketball, cross country, soccer, softball, tennis, and volleyball for women. Along with the athletic teams for men and women, there are over 30 different clubs and organizations from social to academic to community service. Students are encouraged to get involved and with all that’s available, there is no excuse not to. Coker is committed to fostering great leaders and helping its students give back to the community.

More than $4.0 million is awarded annually in scholarships and grants, in addition to federal and state grants. Academic, athletic, talent, and need-based scholarships are available for all students.

Coker College provides courses for students to earn a Bachelor degree in 30 different majors.  Course work also includes 9 areas of teacher certification and 22 minors. Coker College offers courses for day students as well as adults trying to earn their degree at night.

The Center for International and Experimental Education helps students to find internships and suitable locations for study abroad. For more information, please feel free to visit Coker College.

There are several other major colleges and universities in South Carolina where residents of Dillon County receive in-state tuition. These schools include:

Francis Marion University

Florence, SC

University of South Carolina

Columbia, SC

Coastal Carolina University

Conway, SC

The Citadel

Charleston, SC

College of Charleston

Charleston, SC

Clemson University

Clemson, SC

Furman University

Greenville, SC